For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Jonquils and Daffodils

Today’s prompt…

I LOVE Daffodils and Jonquils 🙂 Yesterday I had a letter and submission from a subscriber who told me she was delighted to see her Jonquils blooming and mine are all ready to burst into flower. My daughter Jess told me a couple of weeks ago that hers were already flowering and this picture was taken in Wagga Wagga in June. Things happen at different times not just between different countries but also between different parts of Australia.

Daffodils hold special memories for me and a friend once sent me a beautiful story about a woman who kept going despite adversity, planting hundreds of Daffodils, one by one, year after year, until she covered the whole side of a hill. I will see if I can find a link for it.

Unfortunately, the cockatoos attack the Daffodils and Jonquils further away from the house, very frustrating when you’ve been watching the buds swell and waiting…only to find them snapped off just before or soon after they bloom. We were hoping for less attacks now the house is finished but they’ve already made a mess of my Agapanthus 😦    (Picture a crazy lady, running around the yard, chasing cockatoos away!)

Comments on: "Jonquils and Daffodils" (4)

  1. Squorking as she goes?!

  2. […] Jonquils and Daffodils (positivewordsmagazine.wordpress.com) […]

  3. Love the story of the lady planting daffs! So, Spring is on its way…bet you’re doing pre-planning for the garden?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

