For Creative Writers Everywhere…

On the Buses

Today’s prompt…

Buses have changed a lot since I travelled to school many years ago! I rarely travel on public transport as we live 10 kilometres from town. I know nothing of the new ticketing system (myki) and when I rang the day before to ask was told I could buy a ticket from the driver (for the Sunbury bus to get to the station) but this would soon change. Huh? What will people do who only want to travel occasionally? Surely, I’m not the only one. Years ago, when I caught buses and trains more regularly, it was simple. You got a ticket for the trip or a weekly ticket if you were a regular commuter. No fuss. No confusion. And very easy for tourists/country visitors. Oh well…I’ll cross that bridge next time if I have to but for this trip I was lucky to have a lovely friendly driver on the Sunbury bus and a helpful ticket officer at the station 🙂

Tickets sorted, it was great to sit back and watch out the window, gathering ideas and inspiration for new stories and poems.

PS: It was even more complicated for Pip, coming from his direction. No one at his station to sell a ticket (he got one on the train) and no idea which side of the platform to wait at. Luckily, another regular traveller arrived 🙂

Comments on: "On the Buses" (6)

  1. many moons ago when I had to take a bus to university we had to have the right change to put in a coin slot as we got on the bus

    • These days so many people use cards and hardly carry cash so it would be difficult. I remember years ago we didn’t have a slot but the drivers would often get cranky if we didn’t have the right change! Special ticketing systems work okay for regular communters but not so well for spontanious trips.

  2. Do you remember that English comedy show that used to be on TV, On the Buses? When I read your post I thought of it. 🙂

    • Yes, I had that in mind when I named the post 🙂 It was on when I was growing up and recently they showed lots of re-runs. They still made me laugh 🙂

  3. That’s a fine shot of the ‘Australian open road’, Lancer…Public transport sounds as if it’s becoming difficult over there! Though it’s a ten-mile trip, I take either the “L” or the bus (right outside my door) to the main Chicago library in the Loop; it takes about 50 minutes. Fare is paid by pre-purchased card (at any “L” station), or you can use cash for the bus ($2.25 one way)…guess that sounds as if we DO have it a bit better here, in transport anyway!

    • It’s similar here with the pre-purchased card but if you live in an outer area there is no place to buy the card until you get to the destination, so I was amazed when the man on the phone said they were phasing out cash payments. Hopefully, they will realise that it would be difficult for some if they do.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

