For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Licking the Bowl

Today’s prompt…

When my children were young I talked to an older lady who confided . . . Now the kids have left home, I get to lick the bowls and beaters!

There’s a kind of guilty pleasure in standing in the kitchen with no one around and tasting that sweet mixture 🙂

Comments on: "Licking the Bowl" (6)

  1. I couldn’t agree more. I would rather lick the bowl and the beaters than eat the cooked cake. 🙂

  2. I just made a chocolate cake and had the bowl and wooden spoon all to myself! Now for the icing!! Another bowl to scrape out.

  3. Fully agree, but cannot do it unless I bake a cake, which I would also then have to eat…on the other hand, if I did bake one and gave the cake away, I wouldn’t put on the pounds, would I…and still have the satisfaction of licking the spoon or the beaters…hmmmm…must go buys some eggs!

  4. Funny fingers this AM…”must go BUY some eggs’!

    • Yes, ‘a minute on the lips, a lifetime on the hips’ as they say, so much better if there’s someone else to do most of the eating. Cakes and biscuits never used to last long with four kids but now Rod and I eat too much even though I try to just bake for the weekends. But I DO love baking!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

