For Creative Writers Everywhere…

I Did It :)

Winner badge 180x180

A somewhat self-indulgent prompt today but a perfect end to the November milestone, TEN years of publication and I want to thank everyone who encouraged, cheered me on and followed my progress. Last night I validated my 50,591 words and joined the ‘winners’ of NaNoWriMo. Once I catch up on all the things I’ve neglected over the past month, I’ll write a full report about the experience for Positive Words magazine, especially for those of you who are tempted to have-a-go next year. I am sure I’ll be doing it again 🙂

I’m pleased with what I’ve written. There’s plenty of waffle, typos and awkward grammar but I’ve set myself a new target. I’m hoping to write at least 500 words, 5 days a week until the story is finished which will possibly be about 20,000 words away. I’ve already done 400 words this morning, starting as I mean to go on 🙂

Congratulations to everyone who participated, finished or not; it’s  great learning experience and there’s always next year. I remember feeling disappointed last year at not being able to commit to it but this year was the right time for me. It was wonderful to have some fellow Positive Words subscribers and readers also sharing the experience. I look forward to hearing about what they do with their efforts.

Comments on: "I Did It :)" (16)

  1. Congratulations, well done!! I hope I can join next year, we will see!!

    • Thank you Sonja! I hope you can, too. It’s demanding but for me it’s been well worth it. I think I’ll start planing and organising a few months ahead next year though 🙂

  2. yay–I am proud of you and may do it next year!

  3. Well done Sandra!! I also did NaNoWriMo this year for the first time, I won with 50,131 words on Monday 🙂

    • Thank you and well done to you, too! Are you going to keep going with your story? I would have been happy just to get the words done and it’s a big bonus to have something that’s worth continuing with. I’ve learnt a lot and hope I can fit it in again next year. 🙂

      • I am hoping to get my story into something publishable. That would be a dream… I’m going to hold off editing for a little while, but I think there is potential for more words and a good novel.
        Thanks for the November issue, I really enjoyed seeing my story published. I’ll be sure to keep sending things through. 🙂

  4. Congratulations, Sandra! Well done with NaNoWriMo and on your ten years of publishing. I may do NaNo next year too, as long as I can be self-disciplined enough. This month has been so busy for me and I just hope it won’t be the same next year.

    • Thanks Linda and especially for your encouragement along the way. It really did help. I had a fairly quiet November this year, so that helped although my to-do list is very long. I’ve got my four kids, partners, grandson and parents all coming in two weeks so that will be my bust time! I hope you get the chance next year as I’m sure you’ll enjoy it 🙂

  5. Congratulations on completing your NaNo goal!! I surprised myself (after going through a very extended writing block) by reaching the 50K word goal, too. Shocking, but in a good way.

    I wish you much good luck in finishing your in-progress story, too!

    • Thank you and well done to you, too. I’ve had a bad case of writer’s block/procrastination for most of this year so this challenge was just the re-start I needed. It’s funy, now the pressure is off, I’m thinking even more about the story and where it’s going. Is yours finished or do you have more to write?

  6. Woo hoo

  7. Congratulations Sandra, that is awesome. Good to hear you’re going to keep going and finish it off too.

  8. Nicely and well done, Lancer! That’s really quite a ‘fait accompli’!

Leave a comment