For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Coming up Roses

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Today’s prompt…

I spotted this beautiful orange rose reaching out over a fence in Inglewood last week 🙂

And . . .  I found this equally beautiful quote:

Some people are always grumbling because roses have thorns;  I am thankful that thorns have roses.
Alphonse  Karr

Comments on: "Coming up Roses" (11)

  1. The colour is gorgeous. Love the quote too.

  2. I’ve always had roses in my gardens, but my husband hates them! They jump out at him as he goes past and he always gets scratches when he mows the grass. I have to watch he doesn’t grab the tree loppers when I’m not around to supervise.

    • My ex-husband hated roses, too. He worked as a gardener/lawn-mower and was often asked to weed around roses which he dreaded. I used to help sometimes and always came home covered in scratches, no matter how careful I was. I still don’t grow them but always enjoy other people’s roses 🙂

  3. Glorious color, isn’t it, Lancer? And the quote is perfect, because I agree!

  4. I love that quote!! And, I think I will keep it in mind as I trim back my rose bushes in a week or so. It’s a yearly task that I tend to dread … even though I know how important it is. Thanks for sharing this beauty!!

    • So glad you liked it! It really stopped me in my tracks as I walked along the street. I haven’t got any growing but love to admire (and smel) other people’s roses 🙂

  5. Excellent post. Keep writing such kind of info on your blog.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I am sure they will be benefited from this website.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

