For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Bootiful :)

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

When people see me knitting booties they often assume there’s a new grandchild on the way and when I was younger they thought I was adding to my brood.

It’s amazing how often readers think the fiction stories or poems we write are true. A few years ago I won a prize in a writing competition about an elderly father having to give up driving. So many people sympathised about how hard it must have been for us but my Dad is still an excellent, competent driver (although, like most of us, he hates traffic!) and I’m sure he will still be heading off on holidays for many years to come 🙂 The poem was inspired by an elderly driver I followed home one morning, travelling at about half the recommended speed limit.

But . . . incorrect assumptions, mis-read signs etc do make for great stories with a twist ending!

Comments on: "Bootiful :)" (2)

  1. It’s quite interesting Lancer, how people so often ‘assume’ things, isn’t it? And believe everything they read?

    The many pairs of booties are delightful! Reminds me that I haven’t knitted a thing in many years! I have recently dragged out my sewing machine, most to do some mending, but–I’ve caught a bit of the ‘fever’, and as there’s a wonderful fabric shop just a few miles away in Evanston (a block and a half walk from the train), I’ll be going there (probably) on Friday to look through patterns and fabric. They also have an extensive amount of remnants…perfect for those smaller items!

  2. It is pretty fascinating that people tend to think stories are real. I’ve been asked so many times: “Did that really happen?” in response to one of my stories. In a way, I guess that’s a good thing, as it must mean the story is believable. But my response is usually something along the lines of, “Nah. Fiction isn’t real.” (I guess many things are based on something from my real life our thoughts.) Anyhow … a few weird ramblings on my part. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

