For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Money, Money, Money!

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

The Jade plant is supposed to bring money or good luck. I can never remember whether it is meant to be situated on the left or right side of the front door for best advantage, and even if I did remember . . . is it the left or right going in or going out? And, I’ve also heard that one needs another plant at the back door to keep the money or good luck in.Β  At my former home I had several plants at both the front and back doors and on both sides . . . mostly because they grew well there more than to attract money. I don’t know if this pot is on the best side of the door but it is thriving and seems to love its position πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Money, Money, Money!" (5)

  1. Wow that’s really interesting! I might have to get my hands on one of these πŸ™‚

  2. Wondering if that’s the original reason, Lancer, for the time-honored placements of potted plants on either side of entry doors–luck! Love your profound question, however–left or right? Coming or going? Gave me a great chuckle this early morning (it’s &;00 AM, but I’ve been awake since 2!!!).

    • Glad I could give you a chuckle my friend! It’s late here and I travelled to Pip’s house (240kms) a few hours ago. Pip has just left for night shift at one of his two jobs and I decided to do a little research on the money tree. It seems my plant is in the best Feng Shui position to attract good fortune, the south-east corner πŸ™‚ Apparently the legend began in Taiwan when a poor farmer found a plant, cultivated many more and sold them at the local market, thus it became known as the money tree. Interesting, as when my children were young and I was bringing them up alone I often sold jade plants among others on my market stall and from my home (we were on a main road) and it helped a lot!

      • Brava to you, Lancer, for doing the research! I have two very good books on Feng Shui, and should have looked it up myself!

        Wish you were closer, so I could purchase one of your cuttings…ah, well!

        Being allergic to plant molds, I only have some artificial flowers (good ones!) and some dried things and canes and curly willow…but I’ll wager just one small jade plant wouldn’t/couldn’t hurt, right?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

