For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Mushrooms

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

One of my earliest memories is of going mushrooming with my Nan and Pop, then eating them on toast while watching Football Inquest on Saturday night, followed by the football replay. No live coverage in those days and it was the only time we ever ate away from the dining room table. Nan and Pop had fold-out tables that look like trays on top of metal crossed legs. I often see them in antique shops. I remember thinking the mushrooms were the best thing I’d ever tasted but I’ve never been able to eat them like that again. I don’t even like the smell although I can eat mushroom mixed with other foods and on top of pizza πŸ™‚

 

Comments on: "Mushrooms" (9)

  1. Enjoyed πŸ™‚

  2. Philomena Essex said:

    Have you ever come across a fairy ring on your travels? It is a ring of mushrooms, said to be made by the fairies and. is surrounded for folkloric tales. There is a much more scientific explanation for this strange phenomenon but I much prefer the story of the fairies.

    • Yes, I have seen them and heard the folklore tales but not recently. I’ll have to look up that scientific explanation but who needs science when there’s a chance of fairies πŸ™‚ I grew up reading Enid Blyton and was always sure that one day I’d find a fairy! Maybe I’d better look harder for a fairy ring in our yard πŸ™‚

  3. TV trays!! I remember those. My parents had a set (probably still have them, actually). But we weren’t allowed to eat away from the table very often. That’s why it’s so funny that, now, my dad eats nearly every meal in front of the television. Oh the times … they are a’changin’! πŸ˜€

    • I always envied my friends who were allowed to eat in front of television! When my children were still at home three of them did gymnastics and there was always one or more at training most nights so we hardly ever all ate together. Except Christmas and special occasions. Instead of around-table conversations we had to or from gym in car discussions πŸ™‚

  4. We’ve been mushrooming too!

  5. I’ve never had mushrooms on toast, Lancer…do they get sauteed in butter first (hopefully, because that sounds delicious, especially if the bread is home-made)? My grandfather was a ‘mushroomer’, so we always had lots when I was young…my favorites now are the Crimini, which I get for a song at a small local market, and the Portabellos, which I saute and place on a bun with a slice of mild red onion…a li’l bit o’ heaven!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

