For Creative Writers Everywhere…

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Took this photo of a toilet block just outside Geelong last week. Definitely not my style of architecture but I’m sure there are others who think it looks great! Personally, I rather see more public conveniences, in a simpler (more affordable) design and CLEAN! Not that it is always the fault of councils – there seems to be a lot of people who treat public toilets very differently to the way they treat their own. (Or, if I’m wrong, I’d hate to see their bathrooms at home!) I’ve lost count of the number of immaculately dressed people I’ve seen drop paper on the floor or leave cubicles in a disgusting state – why not leave toilets as you’d like to find them?

In this block there two of the stainless steel doors had been removed from their hinges, I imagine someone got a few $s for scrap metal 😦  How does a council fight against that?

But . . . the real reason for today’s heading is that today is the First of November. The first day of National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). I completed the challenge last year (wrote over 50,000 words in thirty days) and felt very pleased even though I still haven’t finished the manuscript 😦

I enjoyed it so much I wanted to try again this year, despite the huge chunk of time it takes every day, but there are so many other things I want/need to do. A lovely email from a subscriber and writing buddy tipped the scales on my list of pros and I’ve decided to do it again this year. I don’t know if I’ll make it to 50,000 words but we’ll see . . .

The idea/plot/storyline I had seemed so exciting a week ago but nowhere near as good now 😦

Are you participating?

Comments on: "Seemed like a good idea at the time!" (2)

  1. When I saw the NaNoWriMo mentioned on another blog I wondered if you’d be doing it again this year! Good on you. Look forward to hearing how you go.

  2. Thanks Rachel, your encouragement means a lot. Last year all the kind messages helped me reach the target and knowing you are out there cheering me on really helps to keep me motivated. I’m a bit behind the target after a busy few days but making good progress today 🙂
    PS – Thanks for your competition entries 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

