For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Childhood favourites

SAMSUNG DIGITAL CAMERA

Couldn’t resist this copy of an old childhood favourite I spotted in an Op Shop recently 🙂

I had my mother’s old copy of Pollyanna’s Jewels and read and re-read it many times while growing up and borrowed other volumes in the series from the local library. I think it had a huge effect on me – I’ve often turned to the ‘Glad Game’ when life became a little perplexing 🙂 I still have Mum’s book but packed away in a box at the top of the cupboard until we get some more shelves.

I named my cat Pollyanna, twenty-five years ago. She lived for 15 years despite losing a leg in an accident on her first birthday. Still miss her.

Did you have favourite childhood books that have stayed with you through adult years?

Comments on: "Childhood favourites" (1)

  1. Philomena Essex said:

    I have copies of several children’s classics that I have picked up at markets and op shops. I have Tresure Island, The Three Musketeers, The Count of Monte Cristo and others including a particular favorite if mine – Heidi. The latest discovery was a copy of The Silver Sword which was made into a TV series which I watched and have never forgotten. I was thrilled to find the book at the Latrobe market. I read it as soon as I got home and now it is on the shelf with my little collection.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

