For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Thank you

Dear Subscribers, Readers and Contributors,

Thank you all for your much appreciated support of Positive Words magazine during 2014.

It has been a difficult year on a personal level with illness, tough times for several family members and sadness as my mother has been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s Disease and my father struggles at times to cope. It has all taken its toll both emotionally and financially but I am forever indebted to all who have continued to support Positive Words, especially those who have sent kind donations towards the printing costs and stamps which have really helped with the huge postage bill (further extended with the rise earlier this year!). As most of you know, the magazine is a labour-of-love and I do not receive wages or payment for my time, so the support is vital and very much valued.

Many of you have also confided you own troubles throughout the year and my thoughts are with you. I do hope your situations improve in the near future.

Unfortunately, perhaps in part due to my distractions elsewhere and lack of time to promote the magazine and competitions, subscriber numbers have fallen but Positive Words will continue as usual through 2015. Apart from my mother’s condition, most of the other situations have improved and I am looking forward to the coming year and encouraging new writers and subscribers in their writing endeavours. Please spread the word if you know of anyone interested in writing.

Once again, my sincere thanks for all the support and encouragement through the year and I look forward to hearing from you all and seeing more of your work in 2015.

Best wishes for a wonderful Christmas and New Year,

Sandra James

 

A Step in the Write Direction

999+ ideas for Creative Writers

By Sandra Lynn James

Want to write but can’t think of anything? Contains more than 999 ideas to get you started. Ideal for writing groups or individuals, beginners or experienced writers.

Priced at: $6.60 (includes postage to anywhere in Australia)

Available from: Sandra James, PO Box 798, Heathcote 3523, Victoria.

Comments on: "Thank you" (7)

  1. Thanks for the Positive Words this year. I have often been inspired and it has helped improve my own blog – now, with more tools, I am in a position to think for myself – http://chloethurlow.com/2014/11/thinking-for-yourself/

  2. Philomena Essex said:

    Thank you, Sandra, for offering incentive and inspiration to emerging writers like myself. I have been lucky to have had many pieces published within the pages of Positive Words Magazine and I display every copy, on my bookshelf, with pride. I have, over several years, received extra copies of the magazine which I have passed on to fellow writers and family members. I hope in doing so that I have helped to spread word of the magazine and have encouraged others to submit their work and subscribe. I am looking forward to 2015 and I sincerely hope Positive Words will be around for many more years to come.

    • Thank you Philomena! I really appreciate all your support and your ear when I needed it. Positive Words is a lot of work but it means so much that so many people get so much out of it and it all comes back to me, not financially, but in amazing friendships and support that have truly enriched my life. Really appreciate your efforts to promote PW and I am sure we will get the chance to meet one day soon.

  3. I am glad to read that things have improved on the whole for you after what I have seen has been a difficult year. Sad though to know of the Alzheimers diagnosis. It is difficult to cope with, especially for the carer. We went through this with my dad, who died last year at the age of 92. I do hope that things go as well as possible for all of you.
    I am amazed that you manage to do so much Sandra, and commend you for it.
    I hope your Christmas has been a happy one, and wish you all the very best for 2015.

    • Thank you Linda!
      Although I haven’t had the time through most of this year to read as many blog posts as I’d like, I remember you talking about your father. It is very tough on the primary carer and especially when the carers are often husbands and wives who have their own health issues and are less able to cope than when they were younger. My Dad has been amazing with Mum but it is taking its toll. I am very glad we talk about it more these days as I’m sure it helps.
      Christmas Day was lovely with Dad bring Mum, my youngest son Pip and his girlfriend Jem up for the day and some beautiful memories to keep. Dad loves driving and really enjoys the 600km round trip.
      Thank you for your good wishes and I hope 2015 also brings lots of wonderful times for you.

  4. Hi Sandra.
    This year has seen changes in my family situation. Not all of them good, but necessary. I do hope that next year will bring lots of good things to you for you and your family and the magazine. I really appreciate having a competition to aim for every month. Even if I don’t always get round to sending anything in. I am fulfilling a long held dream in March of gong to Monkey Mia in WA. Wishing you all the best. Johanna Saunders/

    • Hi Johanna,
      Thank you! Yes, sometimes the changes are necessary even though it means going through some tough adjustments initially. Keeping perspective, a sense of humour and hope for the future helps to keep us going. I am sure there will be lots of joys ahead to balance it all out. I’m glad you are enjoying the competition challenge and I really appreciate the support. I hope you have a wonderful time at Monkey Mia and I’m sure it will give you lots to write about.
      Thanks Johanna,
      Sandra

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

