For Creative Writers Everywhere…

Six minutes of fame?

This morning I did a radio interview with ABC South West (WA) Breakfast host Niomi O’Hara.

Who would have thought I would being doing interviews on radio? I’ve always been rather shy and back at school (way back!) used to cringe in my desk seat if the teacher so much as looked in my direction.

I’ve done quite a few now on various radio stations and it does get easier each time…the interviewers have always been lovely and, hopefully, that little tremor in my voice isn’t too obvious!

Niomi kindly gave me a heads up on the questions she would be asking, very handy as one’s mind can go incredibly blank even when talking about something one knows very well πŸ™‚

Lets hope lots of budding writers heard the talk and are inspired to have-a-go and send in some of their work.

I’m just glad they can’t see this editor . . . baggy pink pyjamas, hair frizzing and desperately in need of a cut 😦

My six minutes of fame are over . . . time for a shower and some industrial strength hair product to control the frizz . . . while I wait for LOTS of new submissions to drop int my mail box πŸ™‚

If I can combat my nerves, I’m sure there are many others who can take that first step and bravely send in that special story or poem . . . why not have a go? πŸ™‚

Comments on: "Six minutes of fame?" (6)

  1. Fay Reeve said:

    Hi Sandra, That’s great exposure for you. Congratulations – hope it’s one of many more to follow.

    Kind regards, Fay Reeve

    • Hi Fay, and Thank you! As you probably remember I did a few interviews a while back in ‘our’ area {I Still Call Gippsland Home πŸ™‚ } on the ABC from Sale. It gets a little easier each time and the nerves lessen but I think my career in public speaking is still a little way off. Hope all is well with you and everyone at the Yarram Community House. I have such wonderful memories of visits there. And…every time I hatch a clutch of chickens in my incubator, I remember your story about the day old chickens from your mother-in-law πŸ™‚ Best wishes, Sandra

  2. Philomena Essex said:

    Congratulations, Sandra. So sorry I didn’t catch the interview, I would have enjoyed hearing what you had to say. I hope you were able to promote your magazine and entice more people to submit entries and send in subscriptions. My fingers are crossed for your continued success. Kind regards. Mena

    • Thanks Mena! Six minutes rushes by very quickly and before you know it it’s all over and you’re wondering Did I say…? Did I remember…? Hopefully I provided enough information to reach some new and long time writers looking for a place to send their work. Best wishes, Sandra

  3. Congratulations! Good for you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

